Board Members - NAMI - Greater Des Moines
Board Members - NAMI - Greater Des Moines
About Us

Board Members


Ashley Adams

Ashley Adams is the Director of Rehabilitation Services for Optimae, where she provides occupational therapy services for adults with mental illness and intellectual disabilities. She is currently the President of NAMI Greater Des Moines. Ashley chooses to dedicate her time and talents to NGDM to eliminate stigma and to ensure that mental health education, support, and advocacy are priorities in our community. 


Matt Connolly

Matt Connolly is a Real Estate Broker doing residential and commercial real estate. Matt plays a role in fundraising and branding efforts. He also serves as a member of the Fund Development Committee. Matt regularly speaks publicly of 'his story'  in order to reduce stigma and give people reasons for believing in recovery. 




Kristin works for Mercy Hospital. She also serves on the advocacy and outreach committee and assists with fundraising. Kristin dedicated her time and talents to NGDM because she grew up with a family member who had mental illness and it was an extremely  challenging time in her life; especially when the stigma was so much more than even today and growing up in a small farming community; nobody talked about it. Her goal by serving on NGDM is to help eliminate the stigma of mental illness by education, advocacy, support, and awareness. The only way to break down barriers is to educate the uninformed as that’s what leads to the elimination of stereotypes and stigmas.


Matt Pick

Matt Pick is a branch manager at West Bank and has been in the banking industry for the past 10 years. Matt uses his background in banking to serve as the Treasurer and Chair of the Finance Committee. Matt decided to get involved with NAMI of Greater Des Moines because in 2008 he was diagnosed with General Anxiety Disorder and in 2015 was also diagnosed with Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder. 

Board Member

James Crosby

Board Member

Jen Drew, 



Board Member

Don Laster

Senior Agent Principal Financial Group
Assists in Outreach, Education, Networking, Fundraising

I believe in supporting individuals and families struggling through mental illness and helping them all know they are not alone nor is it their fault - it is an illness. There are solutions and management processes to get to a better life.

Board Member

Allyne Smith

Allyne Smith is an Orthodox Priest. At NAMI Greater Des Moines he is Chair of the Governance Committee and serves on the Education and Support Services Committee. Allyne dedicates his time and talents to NGDM because one out of four people suffer from mental health issues. 

Board Member


Teresa Bomhoff

Retired federal employee from USDA Rural Development
Member of Advocacy & Outreach and Fundraising committees, newsletter editor, website manager, gives presentations, MH 1st Aid instructor

Mental illness is a medical illness and deserves the same attention and respect of physical illnesses.  It is essential no one feels isolated.  NAMI GDM is a safe place - compassionate, concerned and non-judgmental.

Board Member

Deb Darling

Senior Enterprise Account Manager for Century Link
She is the Chair of the Fundraising Committee and a member of the Engagement Committee for NGDM.

Mental health and wellness are my passions.  I have family members who have suffered with their mental health and it's been intensified by the stigma of mental illness.  I want to be on the forefront of helping all families and individuals know that it is okay to seek help, and there is help.



Board Member



Board Member





Board Member



Board Member vacant    
Board Member vacant    
Optimae newsletters    

Psychiatric Consultant - Dr. Janice Landy, UnityPoint
Accountant:  Jason Dinesen
CPA:  Timmins, Jacobsen & Strawhacker LLP

Honorary Board members - Tom Boesen,Char Kimball, Ted Boesen, and Kathy Comito

We would welcome additional Board/Committee members. If you are interested, please
contact the NAMI GDM Executive Director at or call 515-277-0672

Do you have an interest in volunteering for NAMI Greater Des Moines?
To find the Volunteer Application - click here
To find the Volunteer Opportunities document - click here
To find a Board application - please click here
To find a copy of expectations for Board Members - please click here

To find other affiliates and support groups in Iowa – click here
To find NAMI organizations in other states – click here
To go to the NAMI Iowa home page– click here
To go to the NAMI National home page – click here


© 2020 NAMI Greater Des Moines. All Rights Reserved.